Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 26 of 26

Thread: Outpost settings self reset ?

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    18

    Re: Outpost settings self reset ?

    Thank you for your support and help.
    I decided not to buy Pro version and uninstall the software altogether. Tried Bit Defender (Horrible but the you can get REAL tech support from official techs on forum, thing that Outpost need to embrace ASAP) and the went to Comodo that resembles Outpost in some way.
    Yep, Outpost in innovative in many ways and designed for more sophisticated user (Bit Defender goes the other way around and so are many others that boast about their Silent mode of operation).
    May be i will try the Free version in the future.

    Manny: Do you use Free or Pro version?

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    12,717

    Re: Outpost settings self reset ?

    I have a lifetime license for the pro suite version.

    This is a user to user forum that Agnitum follows but doesn't normally participate. It's unlikely that will change. They support users through their knowledge base, email and via their live chat where it is possible to get immediate assistance directly from them. Although your experience regarding your settings is unusual at least you gave it a good try.

    I usually recommend that people use the software they are comfortable with because knowing how to properly configure a security product likely more important than what exact features it has. If you find one that you like then stick with it.

    The best of luck with your firewall.
    Regards,
    Manny Carvalho
    MS-MVP Windows since 2002

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    844

    Re: Outpost settings self reset ?

    As Manny said, this is not an official forum per se, it is not your first point of contact with Agnitum regarding bugs and issues. It is a user-driven forum where users help other users.

    The way Outpost is implemented (kernel-mode drivers provide most of the functionality) makes it hard for us to provide solutions to obscure problems because nobody outside Agnitum and their partners have access to the source code. We of course try to help as much as we can, but sometimes Agnitum are the only ones who can help and then the goal has to be getting the word to them about a problem, because that is a crucial step towards improving the quality of Outpost.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    18

    Re: Outpost settings self reset ?

    Outpost support finally contacted my, but apparently i didn't clarify myself good enough and had to explain again what i meant plus add print screen. Not sure how i will help them since i uninstalled the program, but i did send log files and print screen i posted earlier.

    Big thanks to Manny and JMJSC for support.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9

    Re: Outpost settings self reset ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Manny Carvalho View Post
    I have a lifetime license for the pro suite version.
    That is the bit i am interested in, i have 3 user lifetime license for OFP,but i could not see any lifetime license for OSS,where can i get Lifetme license for OSS ?

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    844

    Re: Outpost settings self reset ?

    Quote Originally Posted by arsenaloyal View Post
    That is the bit i am interested in, i have 3 user lifetime license for OFP,but i could not see any lifetime license for OSS,where can i get Lifetme license for OSS ?
    Agnitum is not offering that license any more, you are unfortunately too late.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    12,717

    Re: Outpost settings self reset ?

    I'm not sure but this looks like it might work: http://www.agnitum.com/lp/lifetime_f...008expired.php or maybe this: http://www.agnitum.com/lp/outpost-promo.php but please don't blame if you get to a point and it says expired.
    Regards,
    Manny Carvalho
    MS-MVP Windows since 2002

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    18

    Re: Outpost settings self reset ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Manny Carvalho View Post
    I'm not sure but this looks like it might work: http://www.agnitum.com/lp/lifetime_f...008expired.php or maybe this: http://www.agnitum.com/lp/outpost-promo.php but please don't blame if you get to a point and it says expired.
    I don't understand. How buying the product will solve that issue?
    I moved to Comodo. Its alrigh, remebers its settings and offers some other tweaks. No self protection but i can live with that and its Free.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Georgia, USA
    Posts
    12,717

    Re: Outpost settings self reset ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mishkafofer View Post
    I don't understand. How buying the product will solve that issue?
    I moved to Comodo. Its alrigh, remebers its settings and offers some other tweaks. No self protection but i can live with that and its Free.
    I wasn't suggesting that it would but rather responding to the question in post 20. I apologize for going a little off topic.
    Regards,
    Manny Carvalho
    MS-MVP Windows since 2002

  10. #25
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CSA Consulate,Rm.101,Glos. UK
    Posts
    5,871

    Re: Outpost settings self reset ?

    off-topic:
    manny, those links are for: 1st - OPFW not OSS & 2nd - leads to page for lifetime for OPFW & 2 year for OSS. looks like no current links to OSS lifetimes. #20 poster may try contacting outpost sales<-linky, they might be able to sweet-talk them into a deal.
    Regards,

    CAVE CANEM
    ET SEMPER PARATUS

    Win7 x64 SP1, i7 quad core 3770k, 16GB ram, Custom build PC wi. Asus P8Z77-I MB, nVidia GTX650, Firefox 36.0a1 x64,
    Thunderbird 36.0a1 x64, IE11, Asus DSL-N55U router, Outpost Security Suite9.1 (4652.701.1951),
    in-house IT Support Dept. consisting of two Greyhounds, both of which are now very fast angels, and one Saluki Lurcher



  11. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    15

    Re: Outpost settings self reset ?

    Hi there..
    I'm having exactly the same poblem..
    I'm using XP, dual core cpu..
    Outpost 7.5.2 does not remember the rules I've already set so it's constantly asking me to set them again... Also, it does not register the password no matter how many times I've provided it...
    Any clues??
    Thanks!!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Clear log and reset all counters
    By CharlyAR in forum Outpost Pro FIREWALL General Discussions, Support, and Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03 May 2007, 22:03
  2. Password reset
    By goof in forum Outpost Pro FIREWALL General Discussions, Support, and Troubleshooting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07 Oct 2006, 11:55
  3. Settings reset to default after hibernation
    By remain in forum Outpost Pro FIREWALL General Discussions, Support, and Troubleshooting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13 Sep 2005, 14:32
  4. How to reset forgotten outpost password?
    By PierreJN in forum Outpost Pro FIREWALL General Discussions, Support, and Troubleshooting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08 Sep 2004, 01:07
  5. every preference reset
    By phantom in forum Outpost Pro FIREWALL General Discussions, Support, and Troubleshooting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08 Mar 2004, 09:33

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •