Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Quick Tune Problems

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    18

    Quick Tune Problems

    I am running ver. 7.5.2 (3939.602.1809) on Win 7 x64. I can asscess quicktune in 64 bit internet explorer, but only from: View -> Explorer bars -> Quick Tune. Quick Tune does not show up AT ALL in 32 bit IE.

    1. How do I get Quick Tune in IE 32bit?
    2. How do I get a toolbar icon in IE 64bit?

    btw I can access Quik Tune in Windows Explorer from: View -> Explorer Bar -> Quick Tune.

    Last question:

    Does Quick Tune work with browsers other than IE?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    843

    Re: Quick Tune Problems

    Gear icon: Manage addons, enable Quicktune.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    18

    Re: Quick Tune Problems

    Sorry I should have mentioned Quick Tune is not listed ANYWHERE in IE9 32bit. In other words it's not there.

    It shows up in IE9 64bit, just no toolbar icon.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    843

    Re: Quick Tune Problems

    Quote Originally Posted by Ringmaster View Post
    Sorry I should have mentioned Quick Tune is not listed ANYWHERE in IE9 32bit. In other words it's not there.

    It shows up in IE9 64bit, just no toolbar icon.
    Sounds like you have a problematic installation then, for me Quick Tune shows up in Manage Addons for both IEx86 and IEx64. Try a clean reinstall?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CSA Consulate,Rm.101,Glos. UK
    Posts
    5,850

    Re: Quick Tune Problems

    it works for me in 32 & 64 bit. had to enable it 1st time in 32 bit. i agree with jmjsc - try a clean install.
    Capture 000.jpg

    it is also now persistent, do not need to go thru view menu to show it, it appears automatically when i start ie9.
    Regards,

    CAVE CANEM
    ET SEMPER PARATUS

    Win7 x64 SP1, i7 quad core 3770k, 16GB ram, Custom build PC wi. Asus P8Z77-I MB, nVidia GTX650, Firefox 36.0a1 x64,
    Thunderbird 36.0a1 x64, IE11, Asus DSL-N55U router, Outpost Security Suite9.1 (4652.701.1951),
    in-house IT Support Dept. consisting of two Greyhounds, both of which are now very fast angels, and one Saluki Lurcher



  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    18

    Re: Quick Tune Problems

    Tried clean install.... No luck. Appears in 64bit IE9 manage addons but not in 32bit. Also still no toolbar icon in 64bit.

    I have manually added

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\ Internet Explorer\Extensions\{A1A7E22D-1587-4230-8F16-081C68D21448}

    and now quicktune show up in manage addons but I still have no access.

    Could someone post the contents of that key (or .reg file)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CSA Consulate,Rm.101,Glos. UK
    Posts
    5,850

    Re: Quick Tune Problems

    mine shows in a different key, HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\ Internet Explorer\Extensions\{44627E97-789B-40d4-B5C2-58BD171129A1}
    Capture 000.jpg
    Regards,

    CAVE CANEM
    ET SEMPER PARATUS

    Win7 x64 SP1, i7 quad core 3770k, 16GB ram, Custom build PC wi. Asus P8Z77-I MB, nVidia GTX650, Firefox 36.0a1 x64,
    Thunderbird 36.0a1 x64, IE11, Asus DSL-N55U router, Outpost Security Suite9.1 (4652.701.1951),
    in-house IT Support Dept. consisting of two Greyhounds, both of which are now very fast angels, and one Saluki Lurcher



  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    18

    Re: Quick Tune Problems

    I have uninstalled/installed OSS.
    I have downgraded to IE8
    I have uninstalled/run cleaner(in safemode)/installed OSS.

    NOTHING HAS CHANGED FROM MY ORIGINAL POST.

    Oh and the extensions key is not present (nor was it when I originally posted)
    Last edited by Ringmaster; 03-21-2012 at 17:51.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    843

    Re: Quick Tune Problems

    What other security software do you run? Is there something you don't select during OSS install? Do you run with UAC enabled?

    Have you found OSS install log files and had a look through them?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    18

    Re: Quick Tune Problems

    Quote Originally Posted by jmjsc View Post
    What other security software do you run? Is there something you don't select during OSS install? Do you run with UAC enabled?

    Have you found OSS install log files and had a look through them?
    None, I select expert mode, UAC disabled

    So far only thing that looks weird (from op_install.log) is:

    2012/03/22 01:29:50 register_dll - C:\Program Files\Agnitum\Outpost Security Suite Pro\ie_bar.dll DllRegisterServer
    2012/03/22 01:29:50 register_dll - dll entry point return error code 80040201 <---------------------------------------- ERROR CODE
    2012/03/22 01:29:51 deinit Wow64EnableWow64FsRedirection interceptor
    2012/03/22 01:29:51 Loaded op_install32.dll build: 7.5.2.3939.13417
    2012/03/22 01:29:51 use load resource hook
    2012/03/22 01:29:51 owner: C:\Windows\SysWOW64\rundll32.exe
    2012/03/22 01:29:51 Wow64EnableWow64FsRedirection interceptor is 1
    2012/03/22 01:29:51 Initial WOW64 is set to: 1
    2012/03/22 01:29:51 register_dll - C:\Program Files\Agnitum\Outpost Security Suite Pro\ie_bar32.dll DllRegisterServer
    2012/03/22 01:29:51 register_dll - dll entry point return error code 80040201 <---------------------------------------- SAME ERROR CODE
    2012/03/22 01:29:52 deinit Wow64EnableWow64FsRedirection interceptor
    2012/03/22 01:29:52 install_done call

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    843

    Re: Quick Tune Problems

    Try running regsvr32 ie_bar2.dll?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    29

    Re: Quick Tune Problems

    ive always had this same problem, although im using only the pro firewall. i have quick tune in IE x64 but thats it. i also tried using regsvr32 after disabling self protection in outpost, but no luck. error : "the specified module could not be found" or some such.

    i also tried 3 clean installs. argh. haha

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    18

    Re: Quick Tune Problems

    jmjsc Genius! I tried regsvr32 got THE SAME ERROR as in the above posted log snippet. Turned off self-protection. reran regsvr32 Now Quick Tune works in 64bit IE8. Got the toolbar icon and everything.

    32bit IE well not as good... The toolbar Icon shows up and quick tune now shows in manage addons BUT (HUGE BUT) it still dosn't work. Gonna try a reboot.

    btw ArtemisF0wl I ran regsvr32 from a command prompt in the Outpost install dir.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    843

    Re: Quick Tune Problems

    maybe you need to run the 32bit regsvr32 (the one in system32 is 64 bit) to get the 32 bit ie one to work

    the 32 bit regsvr32 is in syswow64

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    18

    Re: Quick Tune Problems

    After reboot IE9 install (ugh) but made no difference in quick tune function. It still works 100% in 64bit IE

    display from manage addons/more info:

    Name: Quick Tune
    Publisher: Agnitum Ltd.
    Type: Explorer Bar
    Version: 7.52.3939.13417
    File date:
    Date last accessed: ‎Today, ‎March ‎22, ‎2012, ‏‎14 minutes ago
    Class ID: {A1A7E22D-1587-4230-8F16-081C68D21448}
    Use count: 33
    Block count: 0
    File: ie_bar.dll
    Folder: C:\Program Files\Agnitum\Outpost Security Suite Pro

    however in 32bit:

    Name: Outpost Security Suite Pro Quick Tune
    Publisher: Not Available
    Type: Browser Extension
    Version: Not available
    File date:
    Date last accessed: Not available
    Class ID: {44627E97-789B-40D4-B5C2-58BD171129A1}
    Use count: 0
    Block count: 0
    File: Not available
    Folder: Not available

    I registered with 64bit regsvr and 32bit regsvr
    unregistered with 64bit regsvr and rereged with 32bit regsvr the result is the same.

    I do have the ie\extension reg keys that were previously posted. Mine now look identical in both the normal key and the syswow64 key (except ie_bar.dll shows in the normal key and ie_bar32.dll shows in the syswow64 key).

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Quick Tune problems
    By Ringmaster in forum Outpost Free Security Suite/Firewall/Anti-Virus General Discussions, Support, and Troubleshooting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-29-2012, 04:35
  2. Quick Tune
    By cvalde in forum Outpost Pro SECURITY SUITE General Discussions, Support, and Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-11-2009, 10:33
  3. Quick Tune
    By NetRanger in forum Outpost Pro FIREWALL General Discussions, Support, and Troubleshooting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-06-2009, 17:09
  4. Quick tune in ie7
    By teowe in forum Outpost Pro SECURITY SUITE General Discussions, Support, and Troubleshooting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-01-2008, 11:03
  5. quick tune panel
    By M@VRiC in forum Outpost Pro FIREWALL General Discussions, Support, and Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-14-2007, 09:20

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •